jump to navigation

Guest Blogger: Autumn Lowry March 25, 2008

Posted by mplibrary in @ your library.
trackback

Today we begin a series of guest blogs from our student workers. Our first volunteer is Autumn. We asked her to tell us what she has learned while working in the library, but she seems to enjoy giving us props too. Take it away, Autumn!

march-25-002.jpg* I must say I find television very educational. The minute somebody turns it on, I go to the library and read a good book.Groucho Marx

* My Alma Mater was books, a good library… I could spend the rest of my life reading, just satisfying my curiosity.Malcolm X

* Libraries allow children to ask questions about the world and find the answers. And the wonderful thing is that once a child learns to use a library, the doors to learning are always open.Laura Bush

As I review these quotes, which most would say are “nerdy,” I look back on my experiences these past two years and I respect and agree with these quotes. I am a library assistant at TWC, and I spend most of my time in the library. My friends have even said, “Geez, Autumn, the library owns your soul!” I wouldn’t go that far, but I am in the library A LOT! If I’m not working, I am studying, checking my email, or reading a good book while lying on the comfy couches. I love our library at TWC.

Now, don’t let my kind words fool you. I didn’t always come to the library. To be honest, going to the library never crossed my mind until my freshman year. At the beginning of my sophomore year, I got a new roommate who loved to socialize, distract me, and go out all the time. I realized that if I didn’t leave my room to study, I would never get anything accomplished. Searching for a quiet haven on campus, I tried several places including classrooms, computer labs, other friends’ apartments…but I kept getting distracted. I finally discovered the library and I was thankful to see the beautiful building with thousands of books, internet access, a spacious reference room, and little quite nooks perfect for studying! I began to frequent the library and in turn, my grades began to increase. My test scores were higher, and I felt better about the amount of work I was putting into my education.

The next summer, I got a phone call from a friend of mine who was a student assistant in the library. She said they had an opening and that I was eligible to have work study! I was so excited to be able to work in the library. When I began working there, I thought I knew quite a bit about the library, but I was shocked at everything I learned about it. I learned how the Library of Congress system worked (instead of Dewey Decimal), I learned about the cataloging and shelving sections in the library, and most importantly, I learned how to help other students like me, who didn’t know much about our building. I began to learn how to use our online reference database, as well as the online card catalog. By the fall semester, I was confident that I could help students with whatever they needed and I was ready for the rush of students who needed me.

Working in the library as well as being a patron of the library has been a great opportunity for me. Not only do I get study time at work, flexible hours, and a great atmosphere, but I have gained the friendship and guidance of my librarians whom I have grown to love. I couldn’t ask for a better job…or for that matter, a better library! J –Autumn Lowry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

