jump to navigation

Have you read the latest Harry Potter book? September 17, 2007

Posted by mplibrary in @ your library.
trackback

harrypotter7.jpe

The book of the summer, the book we were all waiting for, the culmination of nine years of following the boy wizard’s adventures- and now the world has the long-awaited last installment of the Harry Potter series: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. So what did you think, readers? Did it live up to your expectations? Were you satisfied with the ending? Why or why not? Click on “add a comment” or “# comment(s) so far” above and chime in. Caution: spoiler alert!

The library’s copy (F R797h-7) is currently checked out, but you can put a hold on it in the catalog by clicking the “Request” button. For those interested in further reading, the library has these related titles:

Fact, Fiction, and Folklore in Harry Potter’s World

The Ivory Tower and Harry Potter : Perspectives on a Literary Phenomenon

The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter : a Treasury of Myths, Legends, and Fascinating Facts

Reading Harry Potter : Critical essays

And you’ll find an interview with author J.K. Rowling at this link:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?docId=6230

jkrowling.gif

ETA: While you’re waiting for our copy to come back, or if you’ve already read it and want something new to read, check out the Fantasy recommendations in our Good Reads section.

Comments»

1. Bookwoman - September 17, 2007

I just finished the book on Saturday. Except for (maybe) the first two, I thought it was the strongest of the series. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It wrapped things up in such a way that the reader is not devastated, but does learn that in true fantasy fashion good triumphs over evil and there will be sacrifices. J.K. Rowlings’ characterizations were excellent and consistent. Although monetarily she doesn’t need to, I hope she continues to contribute to the fantasy genre.

2. Superstar - September 17, 2007

I loved the book! I thought it turned out just the way it should have. I was sad by all the people we grew to love then lost, but that is just life and war. I am glad that she is through with Harry Potter, but I hope she will start a new adventure soon.

3. Rachel - September 17, 2007

The book was everything that I could have hoped it to be. It really was a definite ending like J.K. Rowling said it would be. I was impressed with how many things from the first few books came into play in the seventh book. It really shows you that she has had everything mapped out since the beginning which amazes me. I hope she continues to keep writing because she has a definite gift.

4. Harry Potter News | Harry Potter Movie | Harry Potter Trivia | Harry Potter Books » Blog Archive » Have you read the latest Harry Potter book? - September 17, 2007

[…] Original post by mplibrary […]

5. Leah - September 17, 2007

I found that the book lived up well to my expectations. I have to admit that I cried like a baby while I was reading it, but I was satisfied with the ending of the book. I only wish it wasn’t the last one.

6. Upset Harry Potter Fan - September 18, 2007

I read the book right after it came out. After bashing it I have realized it is a good book. But she does not have a “definite ending” (as quoted from previous comment) because according the the 7th book a Horocrux must be destroyed beyond all magical repair. The end of this book has Harry coming back from the dead, which I thought was impossible to do, to fight Voldemort. He was the 7th Horocrux and his body was what it was in. Well, if he came back from the dead then his body was not destroyed beyond all magical repair and thus Harry is STILL a Horocrux. Now another part of the ending that puzzled me was when Ron learned how to speak parceltongue. I thought that was a rare gift that was inherited. Now, how rare is it when someone can teach it to themselves? Also I think she didn’t do the Epilogue any justice because it doesn’t go into detail about what kind of careers all the characters chose. I believe she could have done a better job than she did but all in all it was a good book.

7. Tasha G - September 19, 2007

I loved the book. It was probably one of the best ones of out of the whole series. Although I do wish Rowling had put more detail into the Epilogue. Like if Harry had become an Auror and such. But the book is probably my second favorite out of the seven


Leave a Reply

